Current track



Superior Eye Health and Vision Therapy in Marquette
Premium Sheds at

UPIR Swings Back into Action

Written by on August 1, 2014

The second half of the 2014 Bays de Noc Convention and Visitors Bureau race season kicks off Saturday, August 2 with Fan Appreciation Day sponsored by Elmer’s County Market. The grandstand will open at 4:30 PM EST with race cars on display in front of the grandstand. Fans will be able to chat with the drivers, receive autographed pictures and many drivers hand out treats for the younger fans. Fans will receive $1 off the $5 grandstand admission with their Elmer’s Perks card.

The 600 Micro-Sprint class will be showcased with an enhanced payout at stake. There will be driver introductions during intermission. The 500 Micro-Sprint class will also run their make-up feature from the partial rain out in June.

After a month hiatus from racing due to other events at the U.P. State Fairgrounds, the racers are ready to roll into action with the championship up for grabs in all classes with four points races remaining. In the Sport Four division, Erik Marenger is in the lead followed by Robbie Iverson, Kirk Millette, Elliott Reid (Faithorn) and Bryon Stemick. Ron Jenshak, former Norway Speedway Street Stock champion, holds the top spot in the growing Street Stock division. Rookies Rob Willis, Matt Adams and Jeff Sullivan follow with veteran racer Paul Wagner in fifth. The top modified spot has 2013 champion Dale Peterson battling it out with Pat Richer, John Ostermann (Niagara, WI), Fran Berube and Lonnie Dalgord. The Junior Micro-Sprints continues to be fan pleaser with the young racers improving each time they take to the dirt. Logan Getzloff has launched himself into first place and is followed by Ty Springer (Eagle River, WI), Dylan Larsen (Shiocton, WI.) Avry Corrigan and Joey Stankowicz. Kristy Peterson leads the 500 Micro-Sprints with Kyle Getchell, Jesse Liss, Gabriel Zellner (Green Bay, WI.) and Dave Hosking rounding out the top five. The fast and furious 600 Micro-Sprints are led by Josh Bartel, Todd Belanger, Jeff Ives, Steven Miller and Gregg Brayak.

Children 10 and under receive free grandstand admission and can register for bikes donated by David Tovar & 3D Racing, Lonnie Dalgord Racing and Austin Cayer Racing. For race results and point standings go to

Listen to the live recap on 98.3 WRUP

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

13 − three =