Jeff Lynne, Chrissie Hynde and Mike Love among Songwriters Hall of Fame nominees

Jeff Lynne of ELO (Jeff Spicer/Getty Images)Electric Light Orchestra founder Jeff Lynne, Pretenders frontwoman Chrissie Hynde, Beach Boys member Mike Love, and Cat Stevens are among the nominees for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame this June.

A songwriter qualifies for induction 20 years after the first commercial release of a song, with nominees split among so-called Performing Songwriters — like Lynne, Hynde, Love and Stevens –and behind-the-scenes Songwriters.

Other Performing Songwriter nominees include Mariah Carey, Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart of Eurythmics, and Missy Elliott, who’s the first female rapper to be nominated for induction. …read more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eighteen − thirteen =